19 Apr SUSTAINABLE ARCHITECTURE FOR KIDS

How much architecture can you expect from three to six years old children? What kind of concept should a home for children in the early 21st century have? And can a kindergarten communicate a message to its little users?

In the 13th district of Budapest, several innovative, sustainable buildings have been created by private and public builders. Located in the Kassák Lajos Street, the kindergarten “Meséskert” (Fairy Tale) opened in the summer of 2016 and it is not only a new architectural gem of the 13th district, but also a highly demanding project for sustainable construction.

Click HERE for the right tour!

A prefabricated beginning

In the 1980s, a kindergarten was already built on the property, in the style of a prefabricated building, surrounded by multi-storey office and residential estates. But the poor condition of the prefabricated building and the increasing demand for kindergartens encouraged the municipality to build a new, larger and sustainable home for the youngest, in the same place.

The architects Csaba Nagy and Károly Pólus, from ARCHIKON team, designed a compact white building, close to the street from where the entry of the kindergarten is accessible. The large garden at the calm side of the plot – as in the previous building – remains free for playing.

The 16 rooms for 25 children are spread over two floors and all the eight groups on the ground floor have direct access to the garden. For the other eight groups on the upper floor, there is a shady roof terrace with circular, rectangular and triangular shaped incisions, recalling an intellectual toy box for children. The coloring of the house is moderate, limited to the white of the exterior plaster and the sun-yellow of the interior. The administrative areas, the salt therapy room, the high climbing room and the dining room are located facing the street.

A technical fairy tale come true

In addition to the restrained architectural vocabulary, client and architects also opted for a concept of sustainable construction: 25cm thick wall and 40cm thick ceiling insulation, triple glazing and modern house technology make the “Fairy Tale” not only the most eco-friendly kindergarten in Hungary, but also a statement that show s to its small size occupants that architecture is more than a game with forms and colors. If everything goes well, after visiting the kindergarten for over three years, children will not only have learned about painting, singing and romping, but also have gained a lot of responsibility for their own future.

Want some more? Click HERE for the right tour!

19 Apr NACHHALTIGE ARCHITEKTUR FÜR KINDER

Wie viel Architektur kann man Kindern zwischen drei und sechs Jahren eigentlich zumuten? Was für ein Konzept sollte ein Haus für Kinder zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts haben? Und kann ein Kindergarten seinen kleinen Nutzern eine Botschaft vermitteln?

Im 13. Stadtbezirk von Budapest wurden in den letzten Jahren mehrere innovative, nachhaltige Bauten sowohl von privaten als auch von öffentlichen Bauherren verwirklicht. Der im Sommer 2016 eröffnete Kindergarten »Meséskert« (Märchenwald) in der Kassák-Lajos-Straße ist nicht nur eine neue architektonische Perle des 13. Bezirks, sondern auch ein äußerst anspruchsvolles Projekt für nachhaltiges Bauen.

HIER geht’s zur passenden Tour!

Ein Anfang aus Fertigteilen

Auf dem von mehrgeschossigen Büro- und Wohnbauten umgebenen Grundstück stand bereits seit den 1980er Jahren ein in Plattenbauweise errichteter Kindergarten. Der schlechte Zustand des Plattenbaus sowie steigender Bedarf an Kindergartenplätzen ermutigten den Stadtbezirk, an gleicher Stelle ein neues, größeres und nachhaltiges Haus für die Kleinsten zu bauen.

Die Architekten Csaba Nagy und Károly Pólus vom Büro ARCHIKON entwarfen einen kompakten weißen Baukörper nah an der Straße, von wo aus der Zugang zum Kindergarten erfolgt. Der große Garten auf der ruhigen Grundstücksseite bleibt – so wie schon beim Vorgängerbau – zum Spielen frei. Die 16 Gruppenräume für jeweils 25 Kinder verteilen sich auf zwei Geschossen: die acht Gruppen im Erdgeschoss haben alle direkten Zugang zum Garten. Für die anderen acht Gruppen im Obergeschoss steht zusätzlich ein schattiges Dachgeschoss zur Verfügung, dessen Einschnitte als Kreis, Quadrat und Dreieck ausgeführt sind und ein wenig an Steckboxen erinnern. Die Farbigkeit des Hauses ist zurückhaltend und beschränkt sich auf das Weiß des Außenputzes und Sonnengelb des Innenbereichs. Zur Straße liegen Verwaltungsräume, ein Zimmer für Salztherapie, ein hoher Kletterraum sowie der Speisesaal.

Ein technisches Märchen wird wahr

Über die zurückhaltende Architektursprache hinaus entschieden sich Bauherr und Architekten aber auch für ein Konzept der nachhaltigen Bauweise: 25 cm dicke Wand- und 40 cm dicke Deckenwärmedämmung, Dreifachverglasung sowie moderne Haustechnik machen den »Märchenwald« nicht nur zum umweltfreundlichsten Kindergarten Ungarns, sondern vor allem seine kleinen Nutzer damit vertraut, dass Architektur mehr ist, als ein Formen- und Farbenspiel. Wenn alles gut geht, dann haben nach drei Jahren Kitabesuch die Kinder nicht nur Malen, Singen und Toben, sondern auch viel über Verantwortung für ihre eigene Zukunft gelernt.

Lust auf mehr? HIER geht’s zur passenden Tour!